top of page


supporters of fine music!

As you know, at the end of 2023, the wonderful series of Music By The Sea concerts organised by the equally wonderful Zoli Mauritz came to an end after a fabulous 26 years.


My name is Philip Griffin, and I’m one of the musicians lucky enough to have performed in some of these concerts. In fact, I got to perform on four occasions, with four different acts, including in the final event last December with Arabic Classical Music Group Shanasheel.


Shortly after that concert, several other musicians and myself decided that we needed to mark the end of this magnificent series, and give something back to Zoli. And here it is!

On Sunday, 16th June 2024, from 4pm until 9pm, there will be a veritable feast of music, the scope of which will at least hint at the huge variety of musical styles that Zoli programmed over the years, and this time he can just relax, enjoy, and not have to organise anything.


You’ll see – and hear:


Tjupurru & Efiq Zulfiqar

Karin Schaupp

Joe Chindamo


Kavisha Mazzella






Sarah Hopkins


Myee Clohessy



Of course it’s at the Sandgate Town Hall, and we think it’s going to be fantastic!

Please come! Please buy a ticket early and buck the trend of only booking at the last minute. (COVID seems to have done that to everyone).


FYI, there will be an hour-long interval around 6pm, so maybe you can pre-order some food at a local eating establishment, and so that you have time to eat and be back for the second half of the concert.


Scan the QR code on the attached poster, or click here to buy your tickets:


See you there!

Music By The Sea (MBTS) closed its doors at the end of 2023.
Established in1997, MBTS was presenting concerts at the Sandgate Town Hall, which led to the monthly ‘Concert Series’ and 16 years of the ‘Music By The Sea Festival,’ (three day festival from 2002 to 2018). 

Our motto - Music By The Sea believes that ART is essential for the wellbeing of the community has always been central to MBTS’s identity and purpose. We programmed genres of Classical, Folk, Jazz and World music. 

Some Past Artists

Roger Woodward, Simon Tedeschi, Jane Rutter, James Morrison, Joe Chindamo, Karin Schaupp, Brisbane Chamber Orchestra, Slava & Leonard Grigoryan, Prrim, Kevin Hunt, Mythica, Riley Lee, Barnaby Ralph, Xylosax, Jade, Imogen Choir, Jaleos Flamenco, Kelway Quartet, Tulipan, Tom Millar, Andy M Stewart (UK), Gerry O'Beirne (IRL), Stringmansassy, Tinpan Orange, Kev Carmody, OKA, Tete (France), Bob Brozman (USA), Lucie Thorne, Dva, William Barton, The Whitetop Mountaineers (USA), Ewan MacKenzie, Donald Hall, Circle of Rhythm, Anthony Garcia, Tulca Mor, Tjupurru, Jack the Lad, Java (France), Sunas, Shenton Gregory, Cameron Ford, Seaside Symphony Orchestra, Jeremy Eskenazi (France), FourPlay, The Yearlings, Kristina Olsen (USA), Mamadou Diabate (Mali), The View From Madeleine’s Couch, Waiting for Guiness, Katus (UK), The Badinerie Players, Tijuana Cartel, Andrew Veivers, Sarah Hopkins, Jeff Lang, CODA, Frank Martheze, Wild Marmalade, Kooii, Jiggzag, Andre Reginato, The Ghost, Michael Fix, The Hottentots, Gerard Mapstone, The Poachers, Gareth Koch, Trish O’Brien, Dheeraj Shrestha, The Hipshooters, Totally Gordgeous, Harpoon, Cahoots, Mzaza, Ange Takats, Velvet Cellar Cabaret, Ensemble I, Spiros Rantos, Brachi Tilles, Sue Wighton, Linsey Pollak, Samjjana, Spot the Dog, Walisuma, The Redeemers, Omnia Ensemble, Mystery Pacific, Doch, Pejvaak, Dya Sing, Ganga Giri, Stone House, Warogus, Bolivia Marka, Anything but Roy, Invention in Time, Australian Chamber Musicians, Kingfisha, The Birdmann, Vishten (Canada), Gregory Page (USA), Gregory Hartay-Szabo, Stephen Phillips, Louise King, Tamara Anna Cislowska, Judit Molnar, Elena Kats-Chernin, Acacia Quartet, Jevan Cole, Jan Van Dijk, Marialy Pacheco, Ann Vriend (Canada), Lipman Harp Duo, Mark Cryle, Saruzu, Aether Quintet, Trichotomy, Painted Feet Orchestra, Zoe Black, The Unusual Suspects, Jingjing Lu & Nicholas Ng, Laique, The Sojourners (Canada), C.R.Avery (Canada), Joseph Tawadros Trio, Sola Voce Choir, Alexey Yemtsov, Apollo Ensemble (Holland), Helen Lam-Winther, Sine Winther, Manu Delago & Christoph Auer (Austria), Asim Gorashi (Sudan), David Helfgott, Kavisha Mazzella, Scott Cook (Canada), The Poozies (UK), Maru Tarang (India/Australia), Kupka's Piano, The Australian Haydn Ensemble, Sandy Evans, Alex Raineri, Orava Quartet, Jaron Freeman-Fox & The Opposite of Everything (Canada), Flamenco Fire, The Company, Barleyshakes, The Muses Trio, Rebecca Chan, Eric Bogle, The Necks, Marshall McGuire, Umberto Clerici (Italy), Flinders Quartet, White Halo Ensemble, Ian Cooper, Ambre Hammond, Sásta, Yarwah, Winter Wilson (UK), Melody Pool, Paul Grabowsky, Tangents, Duo Blockstix, Artico Ensemble, Alexandre Da Costa (Canada), Peedu Kass Momentum Trio (Estonia), Sean Foran, Chris Abrahams, Andrea Lam, Ensemble Diaspora, Francis Gilfedder, Oi Dipnoi (Italy), Bungarribee, Andrea Vettoretti (Italy), Massimo Scattolin (Italy), London Klezmer Quartet (UK), Ensemble Trivium, Vinod Prasanna, Dan Tuffy (Holland/Australia), Streeton Trio, ​Luca Ciarla (Italy), Riverside Guitar Ensemble, The Balkanics, Katie Noonan, Ella Fence, Shenzo Gregorio Quartet, The Stowaways, East of West, Beier • Griffin • Pollak Trio, ​Trio Argenti, Sharon Grigoryan, Daniel de Borah, Lloyd Spiegel, Sally Walker, Eishan Ensemble, Emily Granger, Vivian Choi Milton, Roger Benedict, Vieux Farka Touré (Mali), Shanasheel and more...

bottom of page